Nutella from scratch (Spoiler: it was awesome!).

I love nutella. So much so that I rarely buy it for myself because 1) it’s expensive and 2) I can polish off an entire jar in less than 48 hours.  I could probably put nutella on almost anything and think that it’s appetizing (nutella + wasabi? sounds delicious to me.).  It never occurred to me that I could make nutella at home! But Thursday, while taking an internet surfing break while working, I found this amazing recipe on one of my new favorite food blogs, The Kitchn. I immediately added the ingredients to the grocery list app on my phone and put a new task on my Google calendar for Saturday: “make nutella!”. Now I was committed.

I had peeled hazelnuts before using the “toast then towel” method and found the process frustrating and ineffective. So I decided to use the recommendation from the recipe: boil the hazelnuts in baking soda and water, shock them in ice water, peel, and then toast.  The process was messy but worked like magic!  I should have used a slightly larger pot to boil the hazelnuts (I did a double batch of nutella), the foam bubbles threatened to overflow from the pot, and for whatever reason boiled hazelnuts turn water a violet, almost black, color.

Purple-y, black bubbles overflowing from my boiling hazelnuts.

By the time I was done boiling them (it look me 5 minutes to get the skins to peel) there were little purple spots all over the stove. However, the extra time it took to clean the stove was well worth it as the hazelnut skins peeled off very easily! The method that I used to remove the skins was to grab a handful of hazelnuts and rub them between my palms like I was rolling a ball of dough. The skin would rub off on my hands and leave lovely peeled hazelnuts behind.  I toasted the hazelnuts for 15 minutes at 350F.

Toasted hazelnuts ready to be ground into oblivion to feed my nutella addiction.

The peeling and toasting of the hazelnuts was the most time consuming and labor intensive part of the process. From here, the recipe was ridiculously easy.  First you grind the hazelnuts into a lovely, yummy paste in your food processor (I cannot decide which kitchen appliance I love more, my food processor or my stand mixer…). This step in the process will make your kitchen smell amazing!

grind, grind, grind

Next you throw the rest of the ingredients into the food processor and mix away. Again, I doubled the recipe to make sure that I had enough nutella to share, so your food processor may not look as full as mine.

Other ingredients: salt, powdered sugar, cocoa powder (I used regular, but the recipe called for the dark kind), salt, vanilla, and oil

That’s it – once everything has been mixed together in the food processor, you have nutella! You can vary the amount of oil that you add to change the consistency of the nutella. I found that adding the full amount of oil to my double batch made a slightly runny nutella. Next time, I think I will add much less oil. Even after sitting in the refrigerator overnight I still wish my nutella was a bit thicker.

Yum, yum, yum

Despite the consistency, I absolutely love my homemade treat.  I might even venture to say that homemade nutella tastes better than the stuff from the grocery store.  There are very tiny bits of hazelnuts that give my homemade nutella a slightly grainy texture that I rather enjoy.  Despite wanting to sit and eat both jars by myself, I managed to overcome my selfishness and shared the nutella with Dave and Kelly on Sunday morning as a topping on homemade Belgian waffles with homemade whipped cream and delicious jam my sister sent me from Maryland.  Kelly and Dave agreed, homemade nutella = success!

Homemade nutella (store in the fridge for up to 2 weeks)

2 thoughts on “Nutella from scratch (Spoiler: it was awesome!).

Leave a Reply

